Electricity is provided to customers in Maryland by local electric distribution utilities. There are four major utility suppliers of electricity supply and service in Maryland, as well as two electric cooperatives and municipal utilities.

Each local electric utility has been authorized to exercise a franchise by the MD PSC to operate a regulated electric company in a specific geographic area, PSC Service Areas. Each company owns and operates the distribution infrastructure (the “wires”), and provide electricity supply on behalf of its customers within its service territory. The distribution company rights are exclusive to the franchised utility. Rates and fees charged by the electric utilities are reviewed and considered for reasonableness by the MD PSC in rate cases and other administrative proceedings.


Baltimore Gas and Electric (BGE) is a subsidiary of Exelon Corporation. The utility provides both electric and gas service in the central Maryland area, including Baltimore City, Baltimore County, and Anne Arundel Counties, most of Howard, Carroll and Harford Counties, and parts of Prince George’s, Montgomery and Calvert Counties.

Potomac Electric Power Company (PEPCO) is a subsidiary of Exelon Corporation. PEPCO provides service in most of Montgomery County and Prince George’s County as well as service in the District of Columbia.

Delmarva Power is a subsidiary of Exelon Corporation. Delmarva provides electric service throughout the Upper and Lower Eastern Shore, and in Delaware.

Potomac Edison Company is a subsidiary of First Energy, and has affiliate utilities operating in Pennsylvania, Virginia and West Virginia. The utility provides electric service in Allegany, Washington and Frederick Counties, and portions of Carroll, Howard and Montgomery Counties.

Southern Maryland Electric Cooperative, Inc. (SMECO) provides electricity service to its cooperative members in Southern Maryland, in Calvert, Charles and St. Mary’s Counties.

There also are some smaller electric utilities in Maryland regulated by the MD PSC. These include municipal utilities operated by the Towns of Hagerstown, Berlin and Williamsport and the Easton Utilities Commission.

Maryland law permits "electricity suppliers" to offer electricity supply to retail customers, including residential customers, in addition to the regulated electric utility. The suppliers must have a license from the MD PSC and comply with the law and MD PSC regulations. Supplier prices are not subject to regulation.